Change in Age for Getting a Permit in Oklahoma?
Oklahomans wouldn't have to wait until their 21st birthday to get a concealed handgun license if a bill making its way through the Legislature becomes law.
House Bill 2232 by Rep. Jerry Ellis, D-Valliant, would lower the age to 18.
"If they're old enough to serve their country at 18, they should be able to defend themselves on their own land at 18,” Ellis said.
The measure passed the House Judiciary and Public Safety Committee on Monday night. It now goes to the House.
If HB 2232 becomes law, 18-year-olds would have to meet the same eligibility requirements as others. They include completing a firearms safety and training course, having a valid Oklahoma driver's license and being Oklahoma residents.
If signed into law, the bill will take effect Nov. 1.
Asked by the committee if it was a good idea to allow 18 year-olds to carry handguns, Ellis replied, "In my district, they've probably already had 16 years of experience.”