Oklahoma is also increasing number of concealed handgun permits
As of July, 2012, there are 126,289 Oklahoma residents with active SDA licenses, according to the OSBI. . . . Applicants must be 21 or older and meet many requirements, such as being a U.S. Citizen, have no protective orders against them and no felony convictions. They must also have two current passport photos and a state ID, such as a driver license, and two methods of payment — a $25 fee to pay to the sheriff’s office for fingerprints, a background check and handling the application, then a payment to the OSBI for the actual license, which is either $100 for a five-year license, or $200 for a license valid for 10 years.From 1995 to 2007, the number of permits went from zero to 57,540. But over the next five years there was 119% increase in the number of permits.
While the numbers don't show the increase for the whole state for 2011, it does have this note.
For those in Pottawatomie County, 442 licenses were approved in 2011.
If statistics being tallied by the Pottawatomie County Sheriff’s Office so far in 2012 keep at the current pace, the number of permits here will be much higher this year.
It’s estimated from sheriff’s office records that more than 300 applications have been made so far this year; it can take about 90 days from the time of application to final approval. . . .